Due to the elevated COVID-19 cases, the DOA has cancelled all face-to-face meetings/trainings. This cancellation has impacted the 2021 HTCP Training Season. With that being said HTCP has paused the posting of the training schedule and registrations (with the exceptions of ACT and MCT course offerings—registration is still available online).

If you need to register for a three-year certification class/exam, please check back in January. HTCP will be working in November/December to determine steps and will be developing a potential virtual training program for the 2021 Winter/Spring months. If you have already registered for a class/exam, please be patient as we work out the details and will be in touch with the new schedule details.  

If you have questions, please contact the HTCP Office at 608.342.1545 or htcp@uwplatt.edu.

Quality Management Program Award


The Highway Technician Certification Program's Quality Management Program Award recognizes outstanding certified highway materials technicians who have displayed exceptional leadership roles in developing quality materials used in highway construction projects. These winners are nominated and chosen from contractors, consultants, and the Wisconsin Department of Transportation.

Congratulations to the 2019 Award Recipient!

  • Tim Grezinski, Northeast Asphalt
  • Nancy Whitesell, Monarch Paving
  • WisDOT-BTS (HMA Unit): Scott Syron, Jeffrey Anderson, Steven Hefel, Daniel Kopacz, James Pforr, Erik Lyngdal, Aaron Coenen

2018 Award Recipient:

  • Dana Meyer, The Kraemer Company, LLC

2017 Award Recipients:

  • Karrie Dassow, American Asphalt
  • Dean Gritzmacher, WisDOT-NCR
  • Raymond Spellman P.E., HTCP

2016 Award Recipients:

  • Laurie Schuler, HTCP
  • Chris Baenen, Northeast Asphalt

2015 Award Recipients:

  • Bob Jewell, The Kraemer Company LLC
  • Dawn Pitlik, Pitlick & Wick Inc.

2014 Award Recipients:

  • Howard Marg, CORRE Inc./WisDOT-NWR
  • Jeff Michalski, WisDOT-NCR

2013 Award Recipients:

  • Heath Schopf, WI Concrete Pavement Association
  • Ron Treuer, WisDOT
  • Terry Treutel, WisDOT/Bloom Companies