Food Allergies & Special Diets

We can best meet your needs if we know about them. Feel free to speak with our staff regarding food allergens or ingredients of concern. To work effectively together as a team, please feel free to connect with us.

Vegetarian/Vegan 

VegetarianVGN

We recognize many students and guests choose to eat vegetarian or vegan for a variety of reasons. Vegetarian items are classified as lacto-ovo vegetarian where items contain no meat but may contain dairy and/or eggs. Vegan items contain no meat, animal products, or animal by-products. Visit our menu system to explore our vegetarian and vegan options. Feel free to ask if a meat-containing dish can be made vegetarian or vegan.

Gluten-Free (Celiac Disease/Gluten Sensitivity)

GF

We understand the need to eat gluten-free. Gluten-free items contain no wheat, barley, rye, and sometimes oats. Each location offers gluten-free options. Visit our menu system to see our daily gluten-free menu items.

Food Allergies 

To accommodate for food allergies and special diets each dining location follows specific procedures to ensure food is free of allergens or meets special dietary requests. If you are concerned please feel free to ask the staff preparing your food to explain these procedures; they will be happy to do so.

FARE College Food Allergy Program

Dining Services is part of the College Food Allergy Program, a program of Food Allergy Research and Education (FARE).  The program offers not only resources for prospective students and parents but also for colleges and universities.  As part of the program, Dining Services has access to resources for training staff, implementing policies that guide our allergy-friendly practices, and additional resources for managing and preventing allergic reactions. 

FARE is the leading national organization dedicated to food allergy research, education, advocacy, and awareness of food allergies. The goal of the College Food Allergy Program is to provide a comprehensive program to improve the safety and quality of life for college students with food allergies. www.foodallergy.org

Religious Practice

Dining Services can help accommodate for religious practices.


Information for all ingredients and products are collected from various food distributors as well as the United States Department of Agriculture Child Nutrition Database and are utilized in Dining Services' food management software system. Nutrition information is intended for personal information and comparison only and may differ from similar items sold on or off campus. We do not represent or authorize accuracy of the information, although it is correct to the best of our knowledge.

While Dining Services does not have allergen-free facilities, we take precaution to identify allergen information and make an effort to instruct food production staff on the severity of food allergies. However, there is always risk of contamination. In addition, manufacturers may change product specifications without notice and product availability may fluctuate. Guests need to be aware of this risk and proceed accordingly. Dining Services does not assume liability for reactions to foods consumed or items one may come into contact with while eating at dining locations.