The Institutional Review Board (IRB) for Human Subjects Research is charged with reviewing and approving all research that involves human subjects.  The IRB works to ensure that all human subject research is conducted in accordance with federal, institutional and ethical guidelines.
Submission Procedures Have Changed

The IRB is adopting an electronic submission of protocols process, which will speed up the process. To submit a protocol, please do the following:

  • Download and fill out the IRB Standard Form.
  • Sign the form, using an electronic signature.
  • Save the form on your computer/account then send it to the next person who needs to sign.
  • When the required signatures have been obtained, e-mail the protocol form and all the attachments (consent form, survey, etc) to Barb Barnet at barnetb@uwplatt.edu
  • You will receive an acknowledgement within the next business day.

If you are unable to obtain electronic signatures, the form may be printed, signed, scanned and then sent to barnetb@uwplatt.edu.

If you have any questions, please contact Barb Barnet, IRB Chair, barnetb@uwplatt.edu, x1767.

Committee Members

Nine faculty with three-year staggered terms, and attention to racial and cultural diversity and gender equity in membership, including one faculty member from each college and one member of the Academic & Institutional Research Committee, with the recommendation that there be a member from Psychology and the School of Education.

Academic Staff
One Academic staff, with a three-year term, with the recommendation that he/she be from an area with an interest in human research (instructional academic staff, Health Services, Counseling Services, and/or Student Support Services).

Community Representative
One appointed by the committee

Office of Research and Sponsored Programs Director (non-voting)

Representation Member College Department Term Expires
Faculty Barnet, Barbara (Chair) EMS Mathematics 2021
Faculty Boril, Hynek EMS Electrical Engineering 2022
Faculty Chen, Hao  BILSA  Media Studies 2023
Faculty Enright, Cori LAE Psychology 2022
Faculty Habibi, Mohammad EMS Electrical Engineering 2022
Faculty Hu, Yuanyuan   LAE Humanities 2023
Faculty Monhardt, Leigh LAE Education 2021
Faculty Pied, Claudine LAE Sociology 2023
Faculty Teng, Hong LAE Biology 2021
Academic Staff Open      
Community Member Open N/A N/A N/A
Ex-Officio (non-voting) Hoyer, Will (ORSP Director)      

Meeting Times

This committee meets the third Wednesday of each month at 3 p.m. during the academic year.


Important Links