UW System honors Young with Dr. P.B. Poorman Award

Corey Young

Corey Young, advisor in the University of Wisconsin-Platteville Office of Multicultural Student Affairs, received the 2021 Dr. P.B. Poorman Award for Outstanding Achievement on Behalf of LGBTQ+ People. The annual award recognizes LGBTQ+ people or their allies who have helped to create a safer and more inclusive climate for LGBTQ+ people. This year, UW System selected 11 honorees who were recognized at a Nov. 4 ceremony held in Madison, Wisconsin. 

“I’m humbled by the opportunity to receive this award,” said Young. “While being recognized is nice, I don’t do what I do for recognition. I do it because it’s important work. Students need to see the work being done.”

Young emphasizes the importance of having an inclusive environment for all UW-Platteville students. As the world becomes more diverse and inclusive, Young acknowledges how representation matters.

“If we want to continue to be a welcoming place for students of all colors, orientations and backgrounds, we need to make sure we have the people in place who identify with all those folks,” he said. “Whenever I can be that light for students who identify as LGBTQ+ or of color, I’m honored.”

As an advocate of LGBTQ+ and anti-racist efforts, Young said it’s motivating to interact and learn from all the UW System awardees. He said seeing other people’s advocacy from across the institutions is inspiring. 

“We are all human,” said Young. “Whether a person is Black, white, Latinx, gay, lesbian, transgender or non-binary, we are all human. We all bleed the same blood. All rights are human rights. We should all treat each other as individuals. If we can all do that, it will be better for all of us. To love each other as individuals is really important.”

According to UW System, the award celebrates the memory and legacy of Dr. Paula B. Poorman, a faculty member at UW-Whitewater dedicated to improving the lives of LGBTQ+ people. Sixty LGBTQ+ people and their allies have received the award since it was established in 2008.

To learn more about the award, visit www.wisconsin.edu/grants-awards/poorman-award/.