The UW-Platteville Department of Social Sciences, a combined program in the liberal arts, offers courses of study that challenge students to develop an understanding of the dynamics of individual and social behavior from a number of perspectives.

The Department of Social Sciences is comprised of six programs: ethnic studies, international studies, political science, social and environmental justice, sociology and anthropology, and women's and gender studies.