College of Liberal Arts and Education recognizes award recipients

Left to right: Dr. Joan Riedle, Dr. John Nkemnji, Dr. Kara Candito, Dr. Frank King, Jr., Dr. Melissa Gormley, Dr. Shan Sappleton, Dr. Will LeSuer, and Carolyn Fries.

The University of Wisconsin-Platteville College of Liberal Arts and Education recognized several faculty and staff members at its 2019 Award Recognition Reception, held April 25 in the Nohr Gallery, Ullsvik Hall.

Awards were presented to the following individuals:

Excellence in Professional Development Award:

Dr. Kara Candito, Department of Humanities, English
This award is given in recognition of excellence in professional development activities such as research, writing, performance, artistic production or activity in professional organizations.

Outstanding Academic Advisor Award:

Dr. Shan Sappleton, Department of Social Sciences, Political Science
Recipients of this award exemplify the best qualities of faculty and academic staff advisors.

Outstanding Service Award:

Dr. Frank King, Jr., Department of Social Sciences, Ethnic Studies 
This award recognizes a faculty or academic staff member who has provided outstanding service at the program, departmental, college and/or university level.

Teaching Excellence Award:

Dr. Will LeSuer, Department of Criminal Justice
This award is given in recognition of excellence in teaching.

The following individuals were recognized for tenure and promotions:

Recommendations for Tenure:

  • Dr. Chris Underwood, geography
  • Dr. Pip Gordon, humanities, English
  • Dr. Amy Nemmetz, criminal justice
  • Dr. Valerie Stackman, criminal justice
  • Dr. David Gillota, humanities, English
  • Dr. Dong Isbister, social sciences, women’s and gender studies
  • Dr. James Romesburg, humanities, English
  • Dr. Shan Sappleton, social sciences, political science
  • Dr. Patrick Solar, criminal justice

Recommendations for Professor:

  • Dr. Dale Murray, humanities, philosophy, UW-Platteville Baraboo Sauk County
  • Dr. Marc Seals, humanities, English, UW-Platteville Baraboo Sauk County
  • Dr. Katie Kalish, humanities, English, UW-Platteville Baraboo Sauk County
  • Dr. Dennis Carpenter, psychology, UW-Platteville Richland

The following Liberal Arts and Education faculty and staff will retire at the end of the academic year:

  • Carolyn Fries, university staff, College of LAE, Feb. 2019
  • Dr. John Nkemnji, Emeritus, School of Education, Feb. 2019
  • Dr. Joan Riedle, Emeritus, Department of Psychology, May 2019

They were thanked for their years of service and their dedication and commitment to UW-Platteville.