Stem Scholars Frequently Asked Questions

What is the STEM Scholars Program?

The STEM Scholars program is a five-year program funded by the National Science Foundation (NSF) starting in fall 2010. The program annually awards 10 renewable scholarships to incoming freshman or transfer students of approximately $3,800, increasing the group to 40 students in years four and five. Eligible students must select a major offered in the College of Engineering, Mathematics and Science, demonstrate academic excellence, and show financial need.

The Program Leadership Team will oversee this program, with the assistance of UW-Platteville administration, academic services, and faculty by specifically:

  • Providing a structure that facilitates a strong network of students
  • Encouraging participation in structured networking opportunities including mentoring, advising, and research
  • Promoting opportunities for students such as internships and co-operative education with industry
  • Supporting career selection and job placement

How do I apply?

We no longer are accepting applications for this program.  2014-2015 is the final year of the program.

Who are the Project Leadership Team members?

Dr. Lisa M Landgraf
UW-Platteville Associate Professor in computer science and software engineering
Director of the Instructional Center for Educational Technologies and STEM Scholars program Director

Ms. Tammy Salmon-Stephens
Senior Director of Women in Engineering Program, Senior Director Engineering Advising Office, and STEM Scholars program team member

Dr. Irfan Ul-Haq
UW-Platteville Associate Professor in mathematics and STEM Scholars program team member

Dr. M. Keith Thompson
UW-Platteville Associate Professor in civil engineering and STEM Scholars program team member

This material is based upon work supported by the National Science Foundation under Grant No. 0966300. Any opinions, findings, or conclusions or recommendations e​xpressed in this material are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation.

Footer Anchor