- Academic Clemency (Bankruptcy)
- Add/Drop Policy
- Course Repeat Policy
- Excess Credit Policy
- Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA)
- Grading System
- Higher Education Opportunity Act (HEOA)
- Probation and Suspension
- Remedial Courses in Math and English
- Test-out Exams, AP and Veteran Credits
Excess Credit Policy
Starting in the fall of 2004, Wisconsin resident undergraduate students who have earned 165 credits (or 30 credits more than required for their degree programs, whichever is greater) will be charged a surcharge, equal to 100 percent of the regular resident tuition, on credits beyond that level.
This policy, created by the Board of Regents, views a college degree from the perspective of a taxpayer. There are many legitimate reasons why students might accumulate “excessive” credits. This new policy will not prevent students from pursuing their goals, but it will be at a cost that is less subsidized by Wisconsin taxpayers. This is not a policy that UW-Platteville can decide whether or not to implement. This is a mandate.
The policy covers all Wisconsin resident undergraduate students pursuing their first bachelor’s degree, including students pursuing a double major. Minnesota residents and non-residents, graduate, post-baccalaureate, non-degree, and special students are not affected.
The policy applies to all credits earned at UW System campuses and WTCS (Wisconsin Technical College System) transfer credits accepted toward a degree. Retroactive, AP, military, and other college transfer credits do not count toward the total.
The surcharge will be applied to students in the semester following the one in which they reach the earned credit limit. The limit is 165 credits or 30 credits more than required for a degree program, whichever is greater.
The policy becomes effective in the fall 2004, and it applies to all Wisconsin resident students enrolled who meet the above criteria. It is not phased in.
The surcharge will add 100 percent to the Wisconsin resident tuition routinely charged, and it will be charged for all credits over the credit limit.
A message will appear on students’ advising reports when they reach 130 earned credits. Each semester the Registrar’s office will notify students who have reached a predetermined number of earned credits, that they are accumulating credits at a rate that might result in them being charged the surcharge. Students will have the opportunity to discuss the issue with the Registrar’s Office. Each term, students who have earned 165 credits or 30 credits more than required for their programs will have an opportunity to appeal. In reality, the additional tuition will be charged to very few students.