College of LAE recognizes award recipients

May 1, 2017

PLATTEVILLE, Wis. – The University of Wisconsin-Platteville College of Liberal Arts and Education recognized several faculty and staff members at its 2017 Award Recognition Reception held Thursday, April 27 in the Nohr Gallery, Ullsvik Hall.

Awards were presented to the following individuals:

Excellence in Professional Development Award:

Dr. Andrey Ivanov, assistant professor of history
This award is given in recognition of excellence in professional development activities such as research, writing, performance, artistic production or activity in professional organizations.

Outstanding Academic Advisor Award:

Dr. Chris Schulenburg, associate professor of Spanish
Recipients of this award exemplify the best qualities of faculty and academic staff advisors.

Teaching Excellence Award:

Dr. Travis Nelson, associate professor of political science
This award is given in recognition of excellence in teaching. 

Outstanding Service Award:

Dr. Dale Henze, senior lecturer in the School of Education
This award recognizes a faculty or academic staff member who has provided outstanding service at the program, departmental, college and/or university level.

The following individuals were recognized for tenure and promotions:
Dr. Yuanyuan Hu, professor; Dr. Michael Sharkey, professor; Dr. Adam Stanley, professor; Dr. Kory Wein, professor; Dr. Peggy Marciniec, tenure; Dr. Madelon Köhler-Busch, associate professor and tenure.

The following LAE faculty and staff will retire at the end of the academic year:
Bruce Howdle, art; Dr. Mittie Nimocks Den Herder, speech; Deborah Rice, criminal justice; and Sue Vavricka, psychology. They were thanked for their years of service and their dedication and commitment to UW-Platteville.

Written by: Laurie A. Hamer, Communications Specialist, College of Liberal Arts and Education, 608-342-6191,


Subscribe to RSS FeedSubscribe to news at University of Wisconsin-Platteville using our RSS feed.

Footer Anchor