UW-Platteville Tri-State Honors Band Faculty

Tri-State Honors Band

Hsing-I Ho, flute
Heather Huckleberry, oboe
Corey Mackey, clarinet
Marica Martin, bassoon
Allen Cordingley, saxophone 
Dan Fairchild, horn
David Cooper, trumpet
David Earll, low brass
Keith Leinert, percussion


Dr.Barry Ellis is Director of Bands and Professor of Music at the University of Wisconsin-Platteville.  Dr. Ellis conducts the Symphonic Wind Ensemble and is instructor of instrumental conducting, wind literature, and instrumental music methods.  Ellis is also director of the UW-Platteville Pioneer Summer Music Camp; founder and director of the UW-Platteville Tri-State Honors Band Festival, the Wisconsin College and University Faculty Woodwind Ensemble and the Rountree Wind Symphony; and is the coordinator and director for the UW-Platteville Band Conductor’s Art Workshop. The Rountree Wind Symphony recently recorded The Music and Art of J. Clifton Williams (Mark Records, 2012).   Dr. Ellis was selected by the University of Wisconsin System as a Wisconsin Teaching Fellow.  He has had articles published in the COLLEGE BAND DIRECTORS NATIONAL REPORT and in THE INSTRUMENTALIST magazine. Ensembles under his direction have performed at the NAfME National In- Service Conference, the Wisconsin State Music Conference and the National Band Association Wisconsin Chapter convention.

Matthew Gregg is the Associate Director of Bands at the University of Wisconsin-Platteville.  He conducts the Symphony Band, assists with the Symphonic Wind Ensemble and is the Director of the Marching Pioneers.  Prior to holding this position, Mr. Gregg was a Band Director at Oconomowoc High School where he was listed twice in the Who’s Who Among America’s Teachers.  He has conducted and performed at several music conventions including the Wisconsin Music Educators Association and the College Band Directors National Association.

Guest Clinician/Conductor:

Andrew Boysen Jr is presently a professor in the music department at the University of New Hampshire, where he conducts the wind symphony and teaches conducting and composition. Under his leadership, the UNH wind symphony has released six recordings and been invited to perform at regional conventions of the College Band Directors National Association and National Association for Music Education. Previously, Boysen taught at Indiana State University and Cary-Grove (IL) High School, and was the music director and conductor of the Deerfield Community Concert Band. He remains active as a guest conductor and clinician, appearing with high school, university and festival ensembles across the United States, Great Britain, and Australia.

Boysen earned his Doctor of Musical Arts degree in wind conducting at the Eastman School of Music, where he served as conductor of the Eastman Wind Orchestra and assistant conductor of the Eastman Wind Ensemble. He received his Master of Music degree in wind conducting from Northwestern University in 1993 and his Bachelor of Music degree in music education and music composition from the University of Iowa in 1991.

He maintains an active schedule as a composer, receiving commissions from festival, university, and high school concert bands across the United States. Boysen won the International Horn Society Composition Contest in 2000, the University of Iowa Honors Composition Prize in 1991 and has twice won the Claude T. Smith Memorial Band Composition Contest, in 1991 and 1994. Boysen has several published works with the Neil A. Kjos Music Company, Wingert-Jones Music, Alfred Music, Masters Music, and C. Alan Publications, including pieces for band, orchestra, clarinet and piano, and brass choir. Recordings of his music appear on the Sony, R-Kal, Mark, St. Olaf and Elf labels.

Footer Anchor