UWP students compete in marketing competition

May 15, 2003

2003_05_15_a.jpgPLATTEVILLE-The University of Wisconsin-Platteville recently sent 18 students to San Diego, Calif., for the 2003 National Agricultural Marketing Association (NAMA) Conference and Trade Show.

The group presented a marketing plan for the new agriculture product, Pulse 200. This product is a revolutionary way to vaccinate cattle without using a needle. Pulse 200 helps to increase bio-security and cut the spreading of diseases.

The group made it to the semi-final round before being beaten out by the eventual overall champion, University of Guelph.

The group's marketing presentation isn't all that they worked on while in warm San Diego. Students were advised to bring their resume along to give to possible employers at the trade show. They heard keynote speakers and viewed award-winning work. Students learned about media, web-based marketing, public relations and sales and how to gain confidence in presentation skills.

The following UWP students presented the marketing plan at the competition: they include graduating seniors president Jamie Williams, an agribusiness major from Leaf River, Ill.; Pam Mumm, an agribusiness major and animal science minor from Lancaster; Ty Martin an agribusiness and soil and crop science major from Cordova, Ill. Senior presenters were Becky Hasburgh, is an agribusiness major and accounting minor from Avoca, and Melissa Knuth, an agribusiness and communications major from Loganville. Junior presenters include Tara Verbsky, an agribusiness and communications major from Hillsboro, and Angie Vogel, an agribusiness major from Manitowoc.

Several students also traveled with the presentation group. Graduating seniors include Nathan Strutz, an agribusiness major from Two Rivers; Ben Leistico, an agriculture education major with an agribusiness and animal science minors from Waterloo, and Peter Morehardt, an animal science major from Elizabeth, Ill. Senior member Matt Lee is an agricultural education major from Darien. Sophomore members include Jason James, an agribusiness and animal science major from Mineral Point, and Jeff Hodge, an agribusiness major from Janesville. Freshmen members include Stephanie Stout, an agribusiness and animal science major from Poplar Grove, Ill., Ben Lawfer, an animal science major from Kent, Ill., Katelin Haglund, an agribusiness major from Pepin, and Ben Lee, an undecided major from Darien.


Subscribe to RSS FeedSubscribe to news at University of Wisconsin-Platteville using our RSS feed.

Footer Anchor