UW-Platteville to celebrate 198th commencement

May 2, 2017
Spring 2016 Commencement

PLATTEVILLE, Wis. – The University of Wisconsin-Platteville will celebrate its 198th commencement on Friday, May 12 and Saturday, May 13. The ceremony will begin at 7 p.m. on Friday, May 12 with the School of Business and the School of Graduate Studies. On Saturday, May 13, the College of Business, Industry, Life Science and Agriculture will hold its ceremony at 9 a.m.; the College of Liberal Arts and Education will hold its ceremony at 12:30 p.m.; and the College of Engineering, Mathematics and Science will be hold its ceremony at 4 p.m. All ceremonies will take place in the Williams Fieldhouse.

The Friday ceremony will celebrate 202 candidates from the School of Business and 157 candidates from the School of Graduate Studies. Kassidy Kohout, a business administration major from Fennimore, Wisconsin has been chosen as the student speaker. Rob Cramer, former vice chancellor for Administrative Services at UW-Platteville and current Vice President of Administration with the University of Wisconsin System, will deliver the principal speaker address. The selected marshal for this ceremony is Dawn Drake, Executive Director of Alternative Delivery Systems at UW-Platteville.

On Saturday, the College of BILSA ceremony will feature 289 students. Dr. Ann Moyer, an alumna and great contributor to the health field in many ways including clinical and research work in genetics and genomics, will be the principal speaker. Graduating with a 4.0, Emily Hefty of Mount Horeb, Wisconsin, will be the student speaker. This year’s commencement marshals for the College of BILSA – Dr. Jodi McDermott, assistant dean of the College of BILSA, and Alicia Prill-Adams, assistant farm director of Pioneer Farm, will each have the privilege of watching their children walk across the stage.

The College of LAE ceremony will feature 250 candidates this spring, including two student speakers. Emma Cleveland, of Platteville, a double major in political science and renewable and sustainable energy systems, will be one speaker, and Sakara Wages, a non-traditional student from Chicago, Illinois, who was just accepted into a doctorate program at UW-Madison, will be the other. Michelle Merkovich, '12, who works for the FBI, will serve as the principal speaker. Retiring after the 2017 spring semester, Dr. Mittie Nimocks Den Herder will end her career at UW-Platteville after 31 years by being the College of LAE marshal.  

The principal speaker for the College of EMS ceremony, Cynthia Bachmann, graduated from UW-Madison with a degree in electrical and computer engineering. From there she worked for The Boeing Company in Seattle, Washington before becoming vice president of Fixtures Engineering, Kitchen, and Bath Americas at The Kohler Company. Josiah Stewart, of Dousman, Wisconsin, founder and president of the UW-Platteville Game Development Club and graduating with a 3.9 GPA, has been chosen to give one student speaker address, and St. Paul, Minnesota native Paige Hagen, who currently serves as an ambassador to the WiSys Technology Foundation, will be the other. Dr. Joe Clifton, who joined UW-Platteville in 1984 and had a role in establishing the software engineering program, will serve as this ceremony’s marshal. Clifton is currently the software engineering program coordinator and chair of the Department of Computer Science and Software Engineering department. The College of EMS ceremony will celebrate 362 candidates.

For more information, visit www.uwplatt.edu/registrar/graduation. All ceremonies will be live streamed.

Written by: Danielle Kobriger, Student Writer, Communications, 608-342-1194, kobrigerd@uwplatt.edu


Subscribe to RSS FeedSubscribe to news at University of Wisconsin-Platteville using our RSS feed.

Footer Anchor