Friday Features - April 29, 2016

CSS to Hide Title

Friday Features
April 29, 2016

Education students present at STEM festival

STEM ed festivalSix students from the School of Education presented at the Dubuque Area Family STEM Festival recently at Loras College in Dubuque, Iowa.

Kelsey Braukhoff, Hannah Davidson, Amber Inman, Cassondra Roach, Tyler Wallace and Stephanie Walrack were able to interact with children and adults of all ages and presented a science concept in an interactive way.

More than 50 exhibits featured interactive STEM activities. Attendees were able to learn about the solar system, robots, conduct science experiments and much more.

Lomax inducted into Beloit Memorial High School Hall of Fame

Joe LomaxProfessor Emeritus of the Criminal Justice Department Joe Lomax was recently inducted into the Beloit Memorial High School Hall of Fame in Beloit, Wisconsin

In 1963, Lomax was hired as an officer with his hometown Beloit Police Department, the first African-American to hold the position. Lomax joined UW-Platteville faculty in 1969 and was the first full-time African-American faculty member on staff. He has dedicated over 40 years of service to the university and retired from the university in fall 2013.

Shooting Sports Club competes at ACUI National Collegiate Competition

Shooting TeamThe Shooting Sports Club sent five members to compete at the Association of College Unions International National Collegiate Competition in San Antonio, Texas on April 3. The team shot in the American Trap Event and placed sixth out of 41 teams.

Overall, the team shot a 481 out of 500. John McRae and Kenneth King led with scores of 99; Abigail Rosenau scored a 96; Jason Bohannon scored a 95 and Melissa Ide scored a 92.

The club is looking to expand its membership. Students interested in competing in a shooting sports club may join the club on PioneerLink.

Pictured left to right are Melissa Ide, Abigail Rosenau, Jason Bohannon, John McRae and Kenneth King.

Concrete Canoe Team heads to nationals

Concrete canoeThe UW-Platteville American Society of Civil Engineers Concrete Canoe Team will be heading to the national competition in Tyler, Texas June 9-11.

At regionals, the team received zero deductions on both the design paper and final product display. They were awarded first placed in three of the four categories including design paper, final product display and racing. They received third place in the presentation.

Agribusiness club attends NACTA Judging Conference

Five members of the Agribusiness Club attended the North American Colleges and Teachers of Agriculture Judging Conference in Crookston, Minnesota April 13-16.

The national judging conference was hosted by the University of Minnesota-Crookston. Participating members included Michael Ihland, Brianna Reynolds, Mary Francque, Nathan Leystra and Mitchell Propst. Director of Pioneer Farm and Associate Professor in the School of Agriculture Dr. Charles Steiner serves as their coach.

Students competed in three contests: Agriculture Knowledge, Agribusiness Management and Agricultural Sales and Marketing. In all of the contests, students were competing against other four-year agricultural programs from across the country.

Francque placed fifth overall as an individual in the Agribusiness Management contest. The Agribusiness Management team consisting of Ihland, Reynolds, Leystra and Francque placed third overall. The Agricultural Sales and Marketing team consisting of Ihland, Reynolds and Leystra finished second overall.

Participation in this event was funded in part by the Glenn Webb Education Fund/GROWMARK Foundation and the Soils and Crop Team Endowment Fund.

Pictured left to right are Michael Ihland, Mitchell Propst, Brianna Reynolds, Nathan Leystra and Mary Francque.

Earll wins 2016 Clifford Bevan Award for Excellence in Research

David EarllMusic Lecturer Dr. David Earll has been selected as the winner of the 2016 Clifford Bevan Award for Excellence in Research by the International Tuba/ Euphonium Association for his research entitled “Conn Tuba Designs from 1880-1940: An Investigation of Early Tuba Product Lines and Construction Techniques.”

This is the highest recognition for research that is granted by the association and is only granted to one researcher internationally every two years. The award ceremony will be held at the International Tuba/Euphonium Conference.

“I am both honored and humbled to be the recipient of the 2016 Clifford Bevan Award for Excellence in Research for my research on the development and construction of early C.G. Conn tubas,” Earll said. “It is incredibly exciting for my work to now be associated with the name of such an outstanding scholar as Clifford Bevan, and I am overjoyed to join the ranks of the previous recipients of this prestigious award.”


Subscribe to RSS FeedSubscribe to news at University of Wisconsin-Platteville using our RSS feed.

Footer Anchor