199th Commencement to be held Dec. 16

December 5, 2017
UW-Platteville graduate

PLATTEVILLE, Wis. – On Saturday, Dec. 16, the University of Wisconsin-Platteville will host its 199th commencement ceremony in the Williams Fieldhouse, with more than 750 candidates. The first ceremony will begin at 9 a.m. with the College of Business, Industry, Life Science and Agriculture. The College of Liberal Arts and Education and the School of Graduate Studies’ ceremony will be held at 12:30 p.m., and the College of Engineering, Mathematics and Science’s ceremony will be held at 4 p.m.

The College of BILSA’s ceremony will include 262 undergraduate candidates. Rachel Hopkins Bonnell, a business administration major from Byron, Illinois, has been selected to give the senior speaker address. Dr. Stacey Schultz-Cherry, virologist and member of the Department of Infectious Disease at St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital in Memphis, Tennessee, will serve as the principal speaker for this ceremony.

Dr. Beth Frieders, a professor in UW-Platteville’s biology department, will serve as the ceremony’s marshal, and Stephanie Walrack, a biology and broad field science major from Edgerton, Wisconsin, is the valedictorian.

The College of LAE and Graduate Studies ceremony will feature 163 undergraduate candidates and 137 master’s candidates. Lukas Wymer, a social sciences comprehensive major from Brodhead, Wisconsin, was selected as the ceremony’s senior speaker. UW-Platteville 2002 alumna Cynthia Delgado Galván, an instructor at Milwaukee Area Technical College, will serve as the principal speaker for the ceremony.

Dr. Marc Wruble, professor of psychology, has been chosen to serve as the ceremony’s marshal. Claire Draginis, an elementary education major from Cuba City, Wisconsin, is the College of LAE valedictorian.

Saturday’s final ceremony will feature 201 candidates from the College of EMS. Karen Kakou, a Côte d’lvoire (Ivory Coast), West Africa native, has been selected as the ceremony’s senior speaker. Ralph Howard, president and CEO of Design Specialties LLC in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, will serve as principal speaker.

Dr. Mark Meyers, emeritus professor of civil engineering and UW-Platteville alumnus, has been selected to serve as the ceremony’s marshal. Theodore Dubiel, a computer science major from Pewaukee, Wisconsin, and Jonathon Stopple, an electrical engineering major from Elkhorn, Wisconsin, are the ceremony’s valedictorians.

For 151 years, UW-Platteville has provided affordable and accessible education to students of Southwest Wisconsin and more recently to students in Iowa, Illinois and other parts of the country and the world. More than 57,000 students have earned their UW-Platteville diplomas.

For more details about commencement, including a link to the live stream of the ceremonies, visit /registrar/graduation.

Written by: Amanda Bertolozzi, Writer/Editor, Communications, 608-342-7121, bertolozzia@uwplatt.edu


Subscribe to news at University of Wisconsin-Platteville using our RSS feed.