Collaborative Integration

UW-Platteville Baraboo Sauk County


UW-Platteville Baraboo Sauk County

UW-Platteville Richland

UW-Platteville Richland


Restructuring Communications

Last Update: November 26, 2018

Steering Committee Chart

See the different subcommittees

UW System Restructure webpage

Find the latest updates from UW System

Frequently Asked Questions

Why did the collaborative integration occur?

According to the UW System website, the purpose of this restructuring is to keep campuses open and to expand access to higher education by leveraging the strength of our four-year institutions at a time when overall enrollments at UW Colleges are declining. The primary objectives of integrating UW Colleges with four-year and research institutions include:

• Expanding access to higher education by offering more courses at the two-year campuses
• Identifying and reducing barriers to transferring credits within the UW System
• Maintaining affordability by continuing existing tuition levels post-integration for courses currently offered at the two-year institutions
• Further standardizing and regionalizing administrative operations and services to more efficiently use resources
• Leveraging resources and shared talent at our institutions to get more students into and through the educational pipeline successfully, better aligning the system to meet Wisconsin’s projected workforce needs

When did this happen?

UW System President Ray Cross announced the plan in October 2017, and the Board of Regents approved the proposal on Nov. 9, 2017. The 13 two-year campuses will join with seven receiving four-year campuses.

What does this mean for us?

UW-Platteville will collaboratively integrate with UW-Baraboo/Sauk County and UW-Richland. These three institutions were paired not just because of proximity, but also because there are many foundational similarities that drive them: teaching-centered philosophies, hands-on learning opportunities in small class sizes, academic excellence, affordability, and a commitment to giving back to enrich the community.

When does this go into effect?

The restructuring began July 1, 2018, after the Higher Learning Commission approved the restructure.

What has happened since the announcement was made?

A lot, actually. More than 250 people have worked on the steering and subcommittee meetings to ensure things such as Higher Learning Committee accreditation, branch campus faculty integration into the UW-Platteville structure, student success programs, additional associate degree plans and more are evaluated and addressed.

What does this mean for branch campus students in 2018-19?

For the branch campus students, not much will visibly change as to avoid disruption in the educational process. Students will still use their email address to receive messages from faculty and staff, financial aid updates, tuition invoices and more. The branch campus student ID card will still be valid for the year. Branch campus students may be integrated into the more than 200 UW-Platteville clubs and organizations.

When do things begin changing for branch campus students for the 2019-20 academic year?

An important change occurs in October 2018 when the financial aid process begins for the next year. All students, even those returning who have previously filled out a FAFSA, must select UW-Platteville in the school code instead of UW Colleges. This is a very important step to ensure financial aid. Other changes will be communicated to students throughout 2018-19.

When will the names of the campuses be approved?

The proposed names will be submitted to UW System in July for Board of Regents approval in August.

How will shared governance be maintained?

Shared governance is critical to UW-Platteville’s success. All four UW-Platteville senates (faculty, academic staff, university, and student) have either changed or are in the process of changing their bylaws to ensure representation from the branch campuses in each senate.

Who will run the branch campuses?

Both branch campuses will have a dean on location, who will work under the direction of UW-Platteville Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs Dr. Joanne Wilson. Ed Janairo, currently the campus administrator at UW-Baraboo/Sauk County, will be the dean at that campus, and Dr. Brandon Fetterly, the acting regional dean of Academic Affairs at UW-Richland and UW-Baraboo/Sauk County, will be the dean at Richland.

What about athletics at the branch campuses?

Athletics will continue to be offered at the branch campuses as club sports (internal name) and college athletics (external name), per UW System Decision #16 that took into account NCAA and Title IX considerations. Branch campus teams will continue to function under the structure and direction of the Wisconsin Collegiate Conference.  Current school colors and mascots will be retained for athletics at all three campuses.

What additional programming may be offered in Baraboo/Sauk County and Richland?

Associate of Science degrees may be offered in agriculture, accounting, biology, business, building construction management and hotel management/tourism.

Photos of visits to UW-Baraboo/Sauk county and UW-Richland