Chapter II

2.01 Academic Staff Senate The Academic Staff Senate shall consist of one (1) administrator and seven (7) elected representatives. The term of office of the members and the structure of the senate shall be defined in the Academic Staff Bylaws as approved by the chancellor. The functions of the Academic Staff Senate are as stated in UWP 1.02 and in the Academic Staff Bylaws.

2.02 Personnel Commission The Personnel Commission of the Academic Staff Senate is established by the Academic Staff Bylaws in Part II, Article III. The primary purpose of the Personnel Commission is to review any personnel policies or procedures affecting academic staff members and to make recommendations to the Academic Staff Senate. Specifically, the Personnel Commission shall:

  1. Review UW-Platteville academic staff personnel policies and procedures and make recommendations to the Academic Staff Senate concerning interpretations or revisions.
  2. Reviews the implementation of academic staff titling and job security system decisions to ensure internal equity and application of consistent principles for the maintenance of the UW-System Unclassified Title and Salary Structure contained in the Unclassified Personnel Guidelines (UPGs).
  3. Serve as the first hearing body, following appropriate administrative review, of any academic staff personnel complaint or grievance.
  4. Serve as the academic staff affirmative action committee.
  5. Serve as an appeal panel of any academic staff appeal of a denial of a request for retitling, promotion or job security, made at the level of the Director of Human Resources or appropriate administrative office.

2.03 Membership of the Personnel Commission The membership of this body shall be a representative from each of the service areas and 2 (two) at-large members of the academic staff as defined in the Academic Staff Constitution, and one member of the Academic Staff Senate. The Personnel Director and the Affirmative Action Officer of UW-Platteville are ex-officio members of the Commission. The Commission shall annually select a chairperson, vice-chairperson and secretary from the members of the Commission.