Committee Structure, Functions and Duties

The Assessment Oversight Committee (AOC) was established as a university-level committee as a recommendation of UWP's Plan for Assessment of Student Academic Achievement (1995).
  1. Monitor various activities and procedures in implementing the university's Assessment Plan.
  2. Disseminate assessment information and facilitate improvement of programs, based on that information.
  3. Work closely with the Provost, Academic Planning Council, Undergraduate Curriculum Commission and Basic Skills Committee to ensure that the assessment program contributes to achievement of the mission and goals of the university.
  4. Develop and maintain a program for funding assessment activities among faculty (similar to Scholarly Activity Improvement Fund and Curricular Improvement Fund).
  5. Serve as a resource for administrative and academic units involved in assessment activities.


Faculty Senate Representatives; (two members, staggered two-year terms)

Member: Term Expires:
Deb Kinder 2004
George Smith 2005

Academic Planning Council Representative: (one member, two-year term)

Mesut Muslu 2005

University Budget Commission Representative: (one member, two-year term)

Mark Evenson 2004

Student Services Representative: (one member, two-year term)

Cheryl Nevins 2005

Undergraduate Curriculum Commission Representative: (one member, two-year term)

Frank Steck 2005

Student Senate Representative: (one member, one-year term)

Amanda Stephens 2004

Appointed by the Provost: (One member, three-year term)

John Simonson 2004

Ex Officio:

Provost, Carol Sue Butts
Assessment Coordinator, Vacant