Committee Structure, Functions and Duties

  1. Reviews and recommends to the Chancellor, Faculty Senate, Academic Staff Senate and Student Senate changes in UW-Platteville policies related to alcohol and other drugs.
  2. Supports and advises the Employee Assistant Program (EAP) and the Alcohol and Other Drug Education Program, including the Student Assistance Program (SAP).
  3. Monitor campus advertising policies in regard to alcohol and other drugs in any campus publication or other media.
  4. Informs faculty, staff and students where to obtain help for themselves or others regarding problems related to alcohol and other drugs.
  5. Works with the commencement committee to establish a workable procedure for preventing problems with alcohol at graduation.
  6. Reviews referral procedures for students who have been involved in alcohol/drug related disciplinary problems.
  7. Evaluates and supports the Alcohol and Drug Abuse Drop-In Centers to ensure educational information will be available to students, faculty, and the community.
  8. Initiates the review of specific alcohol and other drug problems brought to the attention of the committee.


Faculty: (minimum of four faculty)

Member: College:
Daniel Dahlquist LAE Fine Arts
Elizabeth Gates LAE Psychology
Deborah Kinder LAE Humanities
Esther Ofulue BILSA Biology
Academic Staff: (two)
Tom Stephens
Julia Davis
Students: (three appointed by Student Senate upon recommendation of Greek Council, Residence Hall Council, Student Senate)
Brent Boorsa
Tony Schnule
Jon Stevens
Classified Staff: (one)
Community Representative: (one appointed by Platteville Common Council)
Ex Officio:
Campus Police Representative: Jeff Wedige
Counseling Services Representative: Roger Meyer
Student Health Care Committee Representative:
EAP Coordinator: Richard Voelz
Student Assistance Program Coordinator:
Housing Services Representative: Rhonda Viney