Recyclemania 2014

Clear Float

This pane clears float!

THE results are in!

Congratulations on a Recyclemania season well done! This year, our cumulative recycling was 46.2%, up 6% from last year! While we did not rank first in the state this year (UW-Stout did with an impressive 52.8%), we did increase from the top 25% nationally to the top 15%, and had our personal best. Over eight weeks of participating in Recyclemania, we diverted 147,860 lbs of recycling from the landfill!

Here are the state rankings:

  • UW-Stout (52.79%)
  • UW-Platteville (46.18%)
  • UW-Oshkosh (46.16%)
  • UW-River Falls (34.23%)
  • UW-Milwaukee (33.39%)
  • UW-Madison (30.19%)
  • UW-Whitewater (28.75%)
  • UW-La Crosse (26.74%)
  • UW-Green Bay (27.04%)
  • Western Technical College (20.13%)
  • UW-Eau Claire (15.22%)

Check out the full results here.

How it works

  • RECYCLE! Be sure you recycle EVERYTHING possible. It is likely that much more than 50% of your garbage can be recycled!
  • Unsure of what to recycle or how?  Check out this guide.
  • Our local waste hauler, Fahrety's, Inc., picks up all campus recycling and waste each week and weighs it for us.
  • We report these weekly weights to our Recyclemania score card which tracks our weights against the 500+ colleges that are participating.
  • At the end of the eight week competition our scores are reported for several catagories (such as recycling as a percent of overal waste, pounds of recycling per capita, and waste minimization).

Winners

In order to promote recycling on campus, we had a series of recycling themed competitions. The winners are:

  • Most recycled paper by weight at our Paper Drive: Ullsvik with 4,394 lbs of paper.
  • Most signers to our "Campus Recycling Pledge": Brockert with 117 signatures.
  • Best art made of recycled materials: Business Department with a Wisconsin map made of local beer boxes.
  • Best recycling promotional strategy: Pickard Hall who wore recycling themed outfits to Hall Council.

The winners (and everyone else who participated) are invited to a celebratory movie night, the documentary Wasteland will be shown Thursday April 24th at 8 p.m. If you would like to join us, please RSVP here.

Recycling Ambassadors

To help spread the word about recycling, we have 32 designated recycling ambassadors located across campus. Please contact your local ambassador to participate in events, make suggestions, or ask recycling-related questions. These Ambassadors have gone through a training in recycling and love to recycle!

Brockert -  Christopher Fahley, fahleyc@uwplatt.edu
Brockert - Kyle Hendle, hendlek@uwplatt.edu
Brockert - Erik Zander, zanderer@uwplatt.edu
Business and Accounting (Entrpreneurship) - Marcia Harr Bailey, harrbaileym@uwplatt.edu
Business Department - Amanda Ramsey, ramseya@uwplatt.edu
Civil Engineering Department - Matthew Schwalenberg, schwalenberm@uwplatt.edu
Custodial - Mary L Kruser, kruserma@uwplatt.edu
Dobson - Kristina Guevara, guevarak@uwplatt.edu
Dobson - Elisa Broughton, broughtone@uwplatt.edu
Dobson - Megan Kubatzke,  kubatzkem@uwplatt.edu
Dobson - Ellie Visuri, visurie@uwplatt.edu
Dobson - Tayte Hunter, huntert@uwplatt.edu
Dobson - Nichole Kriz, krizn@uwplatt.edu
Engineering - Ahmed AbdelAzim, abdelazima@uwplatt.edu
Engineering Building -Cassandra Yustus, yustusc@uwplatt.edu
Financial Services - Sandi Pitzen, pitzens@uwplatt.edu
Information Technology Services - Nathan Manwiller, manwilln@uwplatt.edu
International Programs - Donna Anderson, anderdon@uwplatt.edu
McGregor - Erich Inglin, ingline@uwplatt.edu
McGregor - Zach Ferree, ferreez@uwplatt.edu
Melcher - Lawrence Parrott, parrottl@uwplatt.edu
Morrow - Ben Roys, roysb@uwplatt.edu
Nohr Gallery and Box Office - Kassi Nadig, nadigk@uwplatt.edu
Outdoor Recreation/ PAC - Mark Sethne, sethne@uwplatt.edu
Performing & Visual Arts - Dr. Eugene Alcalay, alcalaye@uwplatt.edu
Pickard - Raven Keele, keeler@uwplatt.edu
Pickard - John Larkin, larkinjo@uwplatt.edu
Southwest - Coree Burton, burtonco@uwplatt.edu
Sustainable and Renewable Energy Systems Program - Dino Ress, ressd@uwplatt.edu
Ullsvik or Ullrich - Brian Blanchette, blanchetteb@uwplatt.edu
Wilgus - Kristen Green, greenkr@uwplatte.edu
Wilgus - Andrea Wenzel, wenzelan@uwplatt.edu

Report Recycling Feedback

Take the Recycling PLedge!

Recyclemania posters 

Feel free to print and hang the following posters around campus.

Clear Float

This pane clears float!

Sustainability: Recyclemania FB

Like us on FaceBook!
 

Footer Anchor