Institutional Review Board for Subject Research

Student Center

Clear Float

This pane clears float!


Submission Procedures Have Changed

The IRB is adopting an electronic submission of protocols process, which will speed up the process. To submit a protocol, please do the following:

  • Download and fill out the IRB Standard Form.
  • Sign the form, using an electronic signature.
  • Save the form on your computer/account then send it to the next person who needs to sign.
  • When the required signatures have been obtained, e-mail the protocol form and all the attachments (consent form, survey, etc) to
  • You will receive an acknowledgement within the next business day.

If you are unable to obtain electronic signatures, the form may be printed, signed, scanned and then sent to

If you have any questions, please contact Barb Barnet, IRB Chair,, x1942.



Nine faculty with three-year staggered terms, and attention to racial and cultural diversity and gender equity in membership, including one faculty member from each college and one member of the Academic & Institutional Research Committee, with the recommendation that there be a member from Psychology and Industrial Engineering

Member College Term Expires
Steve Benish LAE Education 2014
Hao Chen BILSA Communication Technologies 2014
Yuanyuan Hu LAE Humanities 2014
Chanaka Mendis EMS Chemistry and Engineering Physics 2013
Joan Riedle LAE Psychology 2013
Irfan Ul-Haq EMS Mathematics 2013
Barbara Barnet (Chair) EMS Mathematics 2012
Florence Omachonu LAE Education 2012
Sean Shiverick LAE Psychology 201

Academic Staff

One Academic staff, with a three-year term, with the recommendation that he/she be from an area with an interest in human research (instructional academic staff, Health Services, Counseling Services, and/or Student Support Services).

  • Vickie Dreessens

Community Representative

One appointed by the committee

  • Dee Bernhardt



  • Sponsored Programs Director: Kathryn Lomax

Clear Float

This pane clears float!

IRB Meeting Times

Meeting Times

This committee meets the
3rd Wednesday of each month
at 3:00 during the school year. 

Footer Anchor