Beta Beta Beta Biological Honor Society

Theta Beta Chapter

What is Beta Beta Beta?

  • Beta Beta Beta is a society for students, particulary undergraduates, dedicated to improving the understanding and appreciation of biological study and extending the boundaries of human knowledge through scientific research. Since its founding in 1922, more than 120,000 persons have been accepted into lifetime membership, establishing more than 360 chapters of the society to encourage the close professional and personal relationship on which science thrives.

    You can visit the national web site for more information at

    What is Beta Beta Beta about?

  • Tribeta was founded in 1922 at Oklahoma City University by Dr. Frank G. Brooks and a group of his students. The idea of an honor and professional society for biology students spread rapidly and by 1925, the society was a national organization. Biennial national conventions of student and faculty members began in that year and in 1930 the society journal, BIOS, began publication of student research, articles of interest to biologists and society news. As the society grew, it was divided into regional and district groups, each of which holds a convention annually. At the heart of every district and national meeting are student research papers presented in the style of graduate meetings. Awards are made for outstanding individual and chapter accomplishment.

    Who can join Beta Beta Beta?

  • Anyone interested in biology and who can fulfill the qualifications listed below in either one of the 2 types of memberships.

    What are the different membership levels?

    Membership Level




         Regular members must be undergraduate majors in biology at UW Platteville. You must have completed at least one term of the second year of a four-year curriculum, as well as having completed at least three term courses in biology, of which at least one is not an introductory course. An average grade of "B" or its equivalent must be achieved in the biology courses.



         Associate members shall be those undergraduates whose interests include the life sciences in some significant way, but who are ineligible for regular membership. Students who do not meet the regular membership requirements may want to consider becoming associate members.



         An associate member who joined Beta Beta Beta previously can be promoted to a regular member.


    Officers for 2000-2001:

    President - Becca Roloff
    Historian - Renee Roloff
    Secretary - Dave Hartmann


    Wendy Canon
    Chris Carnes
    Lana Cook
    Kelly Culhane
    Kathryn Fleege
    Brad Gillman
    Robyn Kutka
    Melissa Hampton
    Sarah Hanson
    Dave Hartmann
    Lisa Hayes
    Tiffany Hollingsworth
    Serena Jahnke
    Jamie Lenz
    Matthew Jurak
    Melissa Langhans
    Troy Moris
    Terry Lovaas
    Sara Matthiesen
    Shannon Morgan
    Tara Paquette
    Kirsten Peterson
    Sarah Proctor
    Becca Roloff
    Renee Roloff
    Ann Thalmann
    Elana Walters
    Sean Willey
    Choua Yang