UW-Platteville Tri-State Honors Band Faculty

Tri-State Honors Band

Hsing-I Ho, flute
Heather Huckleberry, oboe
Corey Mackey, clarinet
Barry Ellis, bassoon
Allen Cordingley, saxophone 
Dan Fairchild, horn
David Cooper, trumpet
David Earll, low brass
Keith Leinert, percussion


Dr.Barry Ellis is Director of Bands and Professor of Music at the University of Wisconsin-Platteville.  Dr. Ellis conducts the Symphonic Wind Ensemble and is instructor of instrumental conducting, wind literature, and instrumental music methods.  Ellis is also director of the UW-Platteville Pioneer Summer Music Camp; founder and director of the UW-Platteville Tri-State Honors Band Festival, the Wisconsin College and University Faculty Woodwind Ensemble and the Rountree Wind Symphony; and is the coordinator and director for the UW-Platteville Band Conductor’s Art Workshop. The Rountree Wind Symphony recently recorded The Music and Art of J. Clifton Williams (Mark Records, 2012).   Dr. Ellis was selected by the University of Wisconsin System as a Wisconsin Teaching Fellow.  He has had articles published in the COLLEGE BAND DIRECTORS NATIONAL REPORT and in THE INSTRUMENTALIST magazine. Ensembles under his direction have performed at the NAfME National In- Service Conference, the Wisconsin State Music Conference and the National Band Association Wisconsin Chapter convention.

Matthew Gregg is the Associate Director of Bands at the University of Wisconsin-Platteville.  He conducts the Symphony Band, assists with the Symphonic Wind Ensemble and is the Director of the Marching Pioneers.  Prior to holding this position, Mr. Gregg was a Band Director at Oconomowoc High School where he was listed twice in the Who’s Who Among America’s Teachers.  He has conducted and performed at several music conventions including the Wisconsin Music Educators Association and the College Band Directors National Association.

Guest Clinician/Conductor:

Professor Mark Camphouse is a product of the rich cultural life of Chicago, composer-conductor Mark Camphouse was born in Oak Park, Illinois in 1954.  He received undergraduate and graduate degrees in music from Northwestern University where he studied composition with Alan Stout, conducting with John P. Paynter, and trumpet with Vincent Cichowicz.  A scholarship from the Civic Orchestra of Chicago enabled Camphouse to study trumpet privately for two years with the late, legendary Chicago Symphony Principal Trumpet Emeritus, Adolph Herseth.

Camphouse began composing at an early age, with the Colorado Philharmonic premiering his First Symphony when he was 17.  His 28 published works for wind band have received widespread critical acclaim and are performed frequently in the US and abroad, in such prestigious venues as Carnegie Hall, The Kennedy Center, Orchestra Hall-Chicago, Royal Albert Hall-London, and conferences of the World Association for Symphonic Bands and Ensembles, College Band Directors National Association, National Association for Music Education, American Bandmasters Association, Texas Bandmasters and the Midwest International Band and Orchestra Clinic.  Principal commissions include those by the William D. Revelli Foundation, The US Army Band, The US Marine Band, Northshore Concert Band, and some of America’s finest high school, college-university, and community bands.

Mr. Camphouse has served as guest conductor, lecturer, and clinician in 43 states, Canada, Europe, and China.  He was elected to membership in the American Bandmasters Association in 1999 and has served as founding coordinator of the National Band Association Young Composer Mentor Project since 2000.  He conceived and edited the unique 4-volume book series for GIA Publications, Composers on Composing for Band.

The 2016-2017 academic year marks Camphouse’s 39th year of full-time teaching in higher education.  In 2006, Professor Camphouse joined the faculty of George Mason University (Fairfax, Virginia) where he serves as conductor of the wind symphony and teaches courses in composition and conducting.  Other principal artistic, teaching, and administrative positions have included serving as Music Director and Conductor of the New Mexico Music Festival at Taos Symphony Orchestra, Associate Director and Music Division Head of the Virginia Governor’s School for the Arts, Acting Dean of Music of New World School for the Arts, and Interim Director of the George Mason University School of Music.

Professor Camphouse attained regional finalist status in the prestigious White House Fellowship Competition in 1992.  In 2002, he received an Outstanding Faculty Award sponsored by the State Council of Higher Education for Virginia, the Commonwealth’s highest honor for faculty at Virginia’s college and universities for demonstrated excellence in teaching, research, and public service.  In 2011, Camphouse received the Kappa Kappa Psi Distinguished Service to Music Award in recognition of, and appreciation for valuable contributions to the growth and development of the modern college/university band in the field of composition.  Mark Camphouse has been married to Elizabeth Ann Curtis (Director of GMU’s Potomac Arts Academy) since 1982.  They have twin daughters, Beth and Briton.

Footer Anchor