The University of Wisconsin-Platteville Mathematics Department held its fortieth annual high school mathematics contest on Wednesday, November 7, 2012. The purpose of this contest is to recognize outstanding high school students and to try to stimulate mathematical interest at the high school level.
Approximately 650 students from 38 high schools in Southwestern Wisconsin, Eastern Iowa, and Northwestern Illinois (the tri-state area) formed 48 teams and participated in this contest.
The teams were divided by their high school enrollments. The teams that participated in Division I were Des Moines Central Academy and Junior Academy, Des Moines East, Des Moines Hoover, Des Moines Lincoln, Des Moines North, Des Moines Roosevelt, Dubuque Hempstead, Dubuque Senior, Iowa City West, and Janesville. The teams in Division II were Baraboo, Dodgeville, Dubuque Wahlert, Platteville, Richland Center, River Valley, West Salem, and Western Dubuque. The teams in Division III were Bellevue, Cascade, Dakota, Dyersville Beckman, Lancaster, Riverdale, Stanley-Boyd, Viroqua, and Westby. The teams in Division IV were Albany, Benton, Cashton, Ithaca, Juda, Kickapoo, Monticello, Pecatonica, River Ridge, and Royall. Plaques were awarded to the top three schools in each division and an All-Academic Team was selected to honor individual contestants. The All-Academic Team members received certificates and t-shirts.
Plaque winners in Division I were Iowa City West, first place; Des Moines Roosevelt, second place; and Dubuque Hempstead, third place. In Division II the winners were Dubuque Wahlert, first place; West Salem, second place; and Platteville, third place. Division III winners were Lancaster, first place; Cascade, second place; and Viroqua, third place. In Division IV the winners were River Ridge, first place; Juda, second place; and Albany, third place.

For the names of the individual contest winners click here.

Back to Department of Mathematics