Pioneers earn first win in La Crosse since 1980

Posted October 16, 2010

UW-Platteville won at UW-La Crosse for the first time in 30 years, as the Pioneers beat the Eagles 21-6 Saturday.

Lee Vlasak ran for 158 yards and two touchdowns, leading the Pioneers to their first victory in Veterans Memorial Stadium since a 13-10 win in 1980.

Nick Anderson hit Jeff Bracken for a 20-yard score in the second quarter for a 7-3 Pioneer halftime lead. Vlasak ran in from 45 yards out in the third quarter and four yards in the fourth, giving the converted receiver seven TDs in the last two weeks.

Anderson was an efficient 15 of 21 for 154 yards for Coach Mike Emendorfer's club, with Darin Blaser catching seven passes for 65 yards.

Defensive coordinator Rob Erickson's charges held the Eagles without a touchdown for the first time in the annual series since 1973. The Eagles ran for just 50 yards, making UW-Platteville 18-2 the last 20 times it has out-rushed an opponent.

Nick Anker threw for 285 yards for La Crosse, but was sacked four times. Nick Snyder had three sacks and four total tackles for losses.

The Pioneers improved to 4-2 overall and 2-1 in the Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference, while the Eagles fell to 1-5, 1-2.

Related Links