1990-91 UW-Platteville Men's Basketball Team Inducted into the UW-Platteville Athletic Hall of Fame

May 7, 2012

1990-91 Men's Basketball Team

The 1990-91 University of Wisconsin-Platteville men’s basketball team, which was the first Pioneer team to win an NCAA Division III national championship, was the first squad to be inducted in its entirety into the university’s Athletic Hall of Fame on Sunday.

The Pioneers were 28-3 during the season and averaged a school-record 97.4 points per game. In the national playoffs, Coach Bo Ryan’s team dispatched of Ripon 96-77, Christopher Newport 110-50 and Illinois Benedictine 101-65 to reach the Final Four. After beating Otterbein 96-94, the Pioneers topped Franklin & Marshall 81-74 to claim the national championship.

Previously, Ryan and players Rob Jeter ’91, Shawn Frison ’92 and T.J. Van Wie ’93 were inducted into the Athletic Hall of Fame individually.

The members of the 1990-91 team were:

Coaches: Bo Ryan, Dan Burreson, Todd Kuckkahn, Todd Landrum, Jon Nedelcoff, Robert Petrowitz, Gregory Quam
Players: Delano Brazil, Timothy Decorah, Shawn Frison, Brian Gilmore, Rob Jeter, Carlton Jeter, Michael Jones, Raymond (Pete) Lupori, Mark Macomber, William Morgan, Patrick Murphy, Timothy O’Connell, Ernie Peavy, Andrew Perdue, Sean Poole, Robert Schipper, T.J. Van Wie, Brian Zetting
Managers: Bruce Birdsell, Thomas Demmin, Dennis Fry

Each member was presented a medallion to recognize their accomplishment that was made and produced on the UW-Platteville campus.

Photos by Andy McNeill